Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
2003 LL Bean Outback H6 and 2019 Outback Base
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to get opinions on the advantages and disadvantages of both.

I have been using regular 5w 30 oil for twenty years and change every 3000 miles with no issues and no oil loss in my 2003 LL Bean H6......my wifes car ( 2006 Outback 2.5 ) does use a little oil..about a quart and a half between changes.

Would changing to a synthetic help with oil consumption loss ?

·
Registered
Somebody Else's XT
14,438 Posts
No, synthetic usually finds its way through even smaller gaps and can thus leak/burn more in an engine that is already losing some oil.

Without a true synthetic requirement (manufacturer's declaration, extreme cold temps, extreme duty or very long OCIs) I'd say stick to what you're doing. Any current API-rated motor oil exceeds the specs that were in effect in 2006.

You might as well stick with the cheap stuff since you'll be buying more of it.

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats what I thought....thanks rasterman....................

·
Meh.
I has wagons.
12,323 Posts
I'd say you're changing your oil too often unless the car sees pretty severe service.

Owner's manual calls for 7500 miles/7.5 months normal or 3750 miles/3.75 months severe service.

5k-8k is easily doable with a quality conventional oil.

Why does her car use that much oil? How long time/miles to use 1.5 quarts?
Consumption? Check PVC.
Leaking?

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #5