Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just came back from our first off-road driving. It is graded as an easy trail but some sections definitely felt like a medium difficulty as there were steep hills with loose gravels. Our 2011 outback 2.5 with yoko AT tires was awesome. I didn’t even have to try anything. The car just claw up the hill without any traction loss. We also splashed through puddles of water and mud and it was fun. I am new to the off roading but I was thoroughly impressed how capable it is.

The car has been fun but has been giving us some major headaches during the past two years from cracked cylinder, cvt transmission problem, broken window motor, etc. The engine had to be replaced and transmission was repaired. I promised myself that this will be our first and last suby. But today’s experience got me think twice. Is there any alternative that is reliable and equally capable? Or suby is pretty much the only option?

·
Registered
5,873 Posts
Toyota Land Cruiser, F150 Raptor, Jeep Wrangler Rubicon...and several others come to mind.

A 2.5 CVT OB, while somewhat capable, would be way down my list of vehicles if off roading was one of my hobbies.

·
Registered
Lawn ornament XT
14,366 Posts
Same-or-better off roading capability combined with higher overall reliability... Yep I'd expect Toyota and Ford trucks and truck-based SUVs to score well on that chart. They're going to be larger and more expensive, gas mileage probably not as good.

I can't agree on the wrangler though. FCA Jeeps aren't holding up, IMO. I've got a buddy already into his second transmission in 40k miles on his.

The mazdas, nissans, hyundais, toyota & honda unibody (not based on pickup truck) models may show better reliability than an outback but none of them can touch the Outback's traction system.

So it kind of depends on what other compromises you're willing to make.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4