Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New guy here folks...please be kind...I replaced the head gaskets on my 1999 Subaru Outback DOHC 2.5L. I have been turning wrenches for some 40 years as a hobby and I considered this job challenging.
The car ran fine before I took it apart. I marked everything, took pictures and notes. I put it all back together and now it will not start. The timing belt is on correctly and the timing marks are all lined-up...for sure...I did it 3 times now. First time I installed it with my marks and the last two times, with the factory timing marks. My marks lined-up with the factory marks by the way.
I have spark. I have 180 psi compression in all cylinders. I squirted gas into the intake...nothing?
The other day, I got it to run sort-of on like two cylinders after runnng the starter for like 20 seconds. It sounded bad and smoked alot.
Short of leaving my torque wrench in the cylinder, I am at a loss.
I read all about bent valves, but I never forced anything or tried to start it out of time. Any thoughts would be appreciated...I am very frustrated...

·
Registered
1,072 Posts

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
The other day, I got it to run sort-of on like two cylinders after runnng the starter for like 20 seconds.
Timing problem. I know you checked it multiple times, but that's what the symptoms say to me. Do you have pictures of the timing marks as you aligned them?

As one member here is fond of saying for aligning the TB: "never the arrows".

A common mistake is to misalign the crank sprocket. Make sure to use the mark on the back of the sprocket, not the arrow on the front. Check the graphic for the correct alignment.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Check to make sure your cam and crank sensors are plugged in all the way. They can feel like they're on but give them a good tug to make sure. Had one almost on, car wouldn't start so I started checking and the crank sensor plug pop off.