Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Subaru Outback LL Bean Edition
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Car: '05 H6 with 173k miles purchased last summer. 3k miles added since.

Repairs done so far: All four wheel bearings, brake rotor and pads @ indy mechanic.

Issues: Clunky suspension, rear passenger side brake rotor or pads needs replacement (car driven a few miles with the parking brake engaged :frown2:)

The dealership suggested we replace all bushings and the driver's side front lower control arm. I took the car to a mechanic for a second opinion and was told I need:

a) Engine mounts (left and right)
b) All 4 sway bar links and bushings
c) Front lower ball joint
d) Control arm bushing

I was hoping to get some input on whether or not this is something that I can tackle by myself. Are engine mounts too difficult for a complete newbie? I've done some 'googling' and 'youtubing' and it looks it could done with a jack and some wooden blocks.

I have zero experience with car repairs (haven't even changed my own oil) and do not even have tools but with the 180k maintenance coming up, I do have a desire to learn and start doing my own repairs.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for reading.

·
I simply cannot abide useless people.
2006 2.5i and 2002 3.0 wagons.
12,304 Posts
Presuming MINIMAL rust:

A- Dunno, haven't done it.
B- pretty easy , just a few bolts. Suggest copious usage of PB Blaster a few days before hand.
C, D- Suggect getting Mevotech replacements. Ball joints included. Easier than having a bearing pressed in if you don't have a shop press.

There are threads on the forum here on B, C, D.

Reactions: mas0328

·
Registered
2009 OB 2.5i 4EAT
298 Posts