Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All. My car's suspension is, well, terrible at 146k miles. So, I've decided to go with the '05 KYB front '04 KYB rear replacements and rear spring upgrade (Rallitek or King)... maybe front springs too.

Since I'd rather not go in twice (and I'm a bit OCD I suppose), I'd like to replace what I can while I'm in there (or the shop is in there).

What are the components you guys would suggest looking into changing?

Obviously strut mounts, bump stops, dust boots...

But I'm not a suspension expert at all. So, are there any other parts I should get that make up the assembly? The car was driven in Vermont by original owner for over 100k miles, so I'm thinking bolts could need replacing if they've got a good deal of rust.

But besides just strut/shocks, any other components that can be replaced? Bushings? Control Arm?

Any and all help is appreciated. To be honest, even links to detail about suspension/handling components would be super helpful too.

AND LAST THING!

How much should I expect it to cost the average shop to remove old suspension, reassemble the new one, and install it? Say per corner? Since might decide to do only rears for now if the cost would be prohibitive.

·
Registered
'05 2.5i H4 4-Speed Auto w/Sportshift
514 Posts
If things are really rusted together, you can expect to pay several hundred dollars per corner, if you hire the work to a mechanic's shop.

You will want the struts (both rears are identical, the two fronts are different, being a mirror-image of themselves, right front and left front struts).

How does your front-right CV Axle inner boot look? Being in that location, near the exhaust on some cars, that boot could have failed, flinging black grease all over under there. You can probably see that axle by looking down along the right side of the engine with a good light, from under the hood.