Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently took a job as a travel nurse after working as a staff RN at a hospital in San Diego for the last three and a half years. I used to be a travel nurse years ago, and bought a brand new 2006 Forester X MT for that job and drove it cross country about three and a half times while traveling. Traded that car in for a '12 OB Premium 2.5i CVT earlier this year, and hit the road again.

I packed that car to the hilt, so much that the rear suspension was very bogged down, couldn't see out the rear window, and also had a Thule Atlantis 1600XT on the roof. I first drove from San Diego to Los Angeles, where I stayed with friends for a couple days before heading up the 1 to SF. Could definitely feel the added weight in handling, but not really in regards to torque/pickup, etc. (The car is slow to begin with, and didn't seem any slower once it was loaded down.) On the freeway it was fine, and I averaged around 26 mpg from SD to LA. Could definitely notice a difference in the braking though. Nothing to worry about, but just had to stop a little sooner than usual, and the handling was affected mostly noticeable around corners and curves, but again, expected for such a high-clearance vehicle, that already is known to not take corners at speed the best, coupled with a large load and loaded down suspension. Very pleased so far.

Next was the trip up Highway 1 though Big Sur, where I spent a few days. I had all of my camping stuff in the rooftop carrier, so I didn't have to dig and wade though all the stuff inside the car, except for a cooler of food I strategically placed in the back of the car's cargo area for easy access (I had a LOT of stuff in the car including all of my clothes, kitchen supplies, a banjo, one of my guitars, and three russian kettle bells weighing 44lbs x2, and one at 53lbs.