Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive me if this has been discussed before. But I couldn't find a post on it.

I have one issue with my new 2013 OB 3.6R Limited with the nav, backup camera and bluetooth once your phone has been connected. I'm not a safety expert but I'm wondering if this is a SERIOUS safety issue.

After you have your phone paired with the system, and you later start your car and immediately put the car into reverse to start backing up. A few seconds later, a huge black box appears on the nav screen indicating the status of your cell phone connection with Bluetooth.

IVMHO, the black box is far too big. If something small--like say a young child should suddenly dart across or stop behind your car while the black box is being displayed, you might not see them. :gasp:

I can't find a settings menu option to turn this off. Hope there is one.

If not, who on earth would program something as inane like that? :mad: How hard is to program something like, if the backup camera is being used, then delay showing the status of your cell phone's connection until the car is out of reverse.

Serious SAFETY fail, IMVHO. :28: This should be addressed ASAP.

Besides bringing this to my dealer's and Subaru's attention, any other places where I can lodge a complaint on this?

Attachments

·
Registered
2,819 Posts
I guess it is a subliminal message you should not be distracted by the phone while backing up.

·
Registered
604 Posts
I don't like it appearing either but it is just momentary so I just wait maybe 3 secs and go about my business.
Not sure any software will correct that. I disabled what I could under the "INFO" section to not notify me that the phone is paired but that is about as far as I could go.

If someone does know if the dealer is able to delete this notice I am sure a number of us will ask them to do so.

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #5