Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Outback Onyx XT, 2007 Outback 2.5
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure there are at least a few of us on here who live in places where it snows. What do you have/like/recommend? I'm looking at the new Cooper Discoverer True North and the Continental VikingContact 7. I have no experience with either, and both are pretty new tires so not a lot of info about them online.

This is the only review I can find of the Coopers:
This is the only review I can find of the Continentals: Continental VikingContact 7 test ans review of the Continental ContiVikingContact 7 | AllTyreTests.com

During the winter, I have a long daily commute in all manner of weather -- dry, wet, slush, ice, hardpack, fresh snow, and floamy/soapy/frothy/whatever you want to call churned snow, and my personal favorite slush over ice -- and looking for a good all-around tire. I've considered going back to studs, but the noise can grate after a while and they can swim/wander on magnesium chloride. Blizzaks are OK, but they tend to really struggle on warmish dry roads when new. Michelin X-Ice are great in dry and wet, OK on ice, mediocre in snow and really bad in slush, so they're not really on the top of my list. They make a great all-season tire and I might consider a set if the price was right, but they tend to be expensive, and IMO not worth it.