Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, newbie here. First of all, I appreciate all the good info there is on this website.

I have a 2001 SOHC Outback (2.5) and recently changed the head gaskets. I followed the instructions by the book (and some youtube videos) and put everything back on. I aligned the timing belt as is supposed to: the belt's marks aligned with the notch on each cam pulley at 90 degrees and the crank pulley's notch (not the square symbol) aligned with the mark at 90 degrees. I do have to say that the belt's marks for the cams align slightly to the right of the cam's mark, but I've read that this is normal for aftermarket belts. Once done with the timing belt (but before installing the crank pulley for the accessory belts), I gave the crank a few turns to try and get some oil into the cylinders.

When everything was back on, I tried to turn the engine on a few times. When it finally turned on, it did not sound smooth. The engine light was turned on and after a few minutes it stalled. I cranked it a few more times with no avail and every time a display of Christmas lights would light up in the dash. I gave up and left it sitting overnight.