Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Subaru Outback 2011 2.5 Limited which has been showing a P0171 Bank 1 System Too Lean code for weeks now. I have tried the following to fix it: replaced fuel pump with OEM Delphi pump/filter assembly; replaced the MAF; replaced both O2 sensors (before and after cat converter); replaced all 4 fuel injectors; replaced spark plugs. But still have the P0171 even though the car seems to run fine. One thing I noticed was oil on the front spark plug on the bank 1 side (left side). I’m considering changing the cat converter itself but I have also read about oil meaning a gasket leak. Also, a lot of guys seem to fix this with a vacuum hose change? I don’t know and I’m not a mechanic. But I am fairly handy and I can usually figure it out and do the work ... I’m stumped and I’m tired of guessing. Any ideas?

·
Registered
22 Posts
You need an OBD2 scanner to get more information. Fuel trims and other readings can point you towards a vacuum leak, exhaust leak, or something else. I spent $23 on a Bafx Bluetooth scanner on Amazon. I have an Android phone and use the Car Scanner app. Long and short term fuel trims should be near zero. O2 sensor voltages should be in specific ranges. I was able to find YouTube videos to diagnose almost everything that could be wrong with my P2096 Bank 1 too lean.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
01 VDC, 05 R Sedan, 06 BAJA EJ257
16,472 Posts
You replaced all those parts, you can continue. Only this time verify the problem.

Too lean means the ECM is adding fuel to the fuel trim map in the ROM. This can be a bad sensor, vacuum leak just about anywhere on the engine, or, a bad battery and/or grounding. The latter doesn't allow things to work proper, or, the systems run slower.