Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
This is my first time posting to this forum and I had a few questions about this model and year Outback.

I found a beautiful used Outback limited edition sedan at a used car lot with 105,541 miles and selling for $8,495. Is this the normal asking price? I checked on Kelley BB and it looked like it was about a grand more on there in excellent condition.

The vehicle looks to be in excellent shape although I am concerned about the fuel economy (22 City / 28 HWY) because it is AWD and the high mileage. Should I be worried?
Are Outbacks prone to any problems when they reach a certain length in miles? Are they expensive to fix?

Also, do the back seats go all the way down for storage? The salesman could only get the middle seat arm rest to drop down but neither one of us were sure there was a latch to lower the actual seats to fold flat?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
I has car.
4,621 Posts
105k isn't much for a Subaru. Just getting broke in :)

You didn't specify the year so hard to say what it's worth.

If it's a 2.5 they're prone to headgasket failure. Subaru has a coolant additive that seems to do a pretty good job of prolonging the life of them (I bought a 2000 model OBW recently with 275k that finally went only after the 2nd owner bought it and didn't use the additive).

That's par for the course for an AWD sedan even with a 4cyl. Expect about 25mpg average and you won't be disappointed. Unless you live somewhere it never rains and all the roads are beautifully paved you won't mind the trade-off in mileage for the confidence Subaru AWD gives you in inclement weather.

·
Premium Member
2001 VDC/SC One of a Kind
14,289 Posts