Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Subaru Outback Wagon 4cyl
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
02 Outback hatch here....

I am traveling the country this summer! I am a very poor college student who wants to travel and stay in the Suby each night. My brain can't wrap itself around how to make a bed area in the back. As much help with this car would be great.

Can the backseat be completely removed?

Assuming it can't be removed, what are the best links for a bed in the back?

I want this to be comfy and have room for my toys as well. I am more than happy to build whatever is needed to make this work....any ideas and suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
22,802 Posts
Search the threads on Cot in the back. Couple of owners have found a low slung cot and a way to support the front legs between the front seat and rear seat flip down section. Seems like a great option for you.
Roof box isn't cheap maybe you can borrow one this will free up space in the interior and give you a place to keep stuff that isn't a must have all the time etc.

Have a good trip!

·
Meh.
I has wagons.
12,326 Posts
An air mattress fits acceptable with the seats down. Just deflate when not using.

·
Premium Member
03 H6 OBW & 06 WRX Sportwagon
18,136 Posts
um, many people don't realize the back seat will flip up. particularly if you bought the car used. Often the fabric loop for the latche has lipped down or could be missing.

you remove the head rests. (BTW, the may be reversed to use like pillows, well, or torture pillows lol!)

put the belt latches away.

flip the seat up, then lower the backs onto some 'hangers/studs'.

·
Lord of ScoobyMods, ,
19' Impreza Sport 5 dr / 01' Forester S / 13' OB CVT / 10' Legacy 3.6R / 99 Mita MX-5
1,213 Posts