Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2000 Subaru Outback Base
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to upgrading/maintaining a vehicle myself, as well as new to Subaru. I'm loving both so far!

I'm interested in upgrading the suspension on my 2000 Outback Base but I'm having problems finding the info I need on the forums all in one place. Most everything I'm finding is a partial explanation or is just over my head (I am a technically inclined person, I'm just learning about cars in general as I go, trying to do one thing at a time on my outback till I get it figured out!).

Basically what I'm looking for is an introduction to upgrading suspension on my car. I live in Colorado Springs and therefore spend a lot of time up in the mountains and relatively off-road. Despite being all wheel drive, the stock Outback seems a little limited in off-road capacity compared to a similar Forester or such. I want to make my vehicle more off-road capable without sacrificing too much mileage or performance for in-town driving. I'm trying to figure out if I should just be concerned with upgrading springs or if there are other components that I should/have to upgrade. Any advice/guidance would be greatly appreciated!

So far I've gathered that King Springs is a good direction to go, but again, I really am on an introductory level here. I have some friends that have done upgrades similar to this on other cars to help me when it comes time to actually do the work, but being a relatively thorough person I want to gather as much information as possible before buying anything/taking anything apart. Again, any help or guidance is appreciated!

·
Registered
'97 Outback stock - Well she was rolled 7/9/17 coming back from Savannah, Ga and totaled :-( Not I have an '07 Outback - not sure for how long though - would like an XT :-)
40 Posts