Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2013 2.5i Outback Limited w/ moonroof
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I apologize if this has already been discussed, I tried to search but couldn't find exactly what I was looking for.

Since I’m completely new to Subaru I’ve been doing tons of reading up on various sites (IE - Here, Cars101 and Subaru.com).

I've found what appears to be an inconsistency of information on the Symmetrical AWD system.

Cars 101 (screenshot attached) says "Electronically controlled, primarily front wheel wheel but constantly monitoring and varying the front/back power split."

Source: (Subaru 2013 Outback research webpage- specs, options, colors, photos, and more)

Subaru.com states the vehicle is in AWD all the time and diverts some additional power to other tires when needed.

Source: (Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive | Subaru AWD)

So which is it??

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2004 Outback Wagon, Mystic Blue Pearl
4,946 Posts
Both are correct. There are tons of threads on this subject. But the short of it is that with the CVT and 4EAT the power is constantly being shift between the front and rear axle. No more than 90% ever goes to the front, and no more than 50% ever goes to the rear. The 5 speed autos have a slight rear wheel bias, and the manuals are constant 50/50 split

·
Registered
07 OBW 2.5i 4EAT; Eastern Ontario, Canada
16,498 Posts
I think it's semantics and marketing words that satisfy some, but can be more confusing.