Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know much about Subarus.

this one is $2200.

It needs some work. which is fine by me. fun project.

it basically needs a timing belt kit (aisin $215 on amazon), water pump, timing belt, tensioners. radiator hose(s). coolant flush. (also the AC is warm, 65 degrees. but I've never done AC work before so... not sure about doing that...)

it just had new 90k tires put on it, new radiator, brake pads, cat converter [edit suspension done]

Can anyone provide some advice? about anything else I would need to look at, fix, watch for etc? The guy already sent me a mechanics report, as detailed above. so it looks good so far.

Thank you, take care

Noah

Attachments

·
Registered
516 Posts
It will need suspension bushings probably. Most of them in the back. Shocks likely, also in the back. If you're ok doing incremental work yourself, you'll probably enjoy the thing. Look for valve cover or head gasket leaks underneath and don't be scared if you find them. As long as it's a project car and nothing is knocking, it's all fixable for a handy person.

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
26,843 Posts
got a link to it?

delete the cra out of craigslist and the forum software may let it post

(antispambot idea = need 10 posts to make a working link)

·
Registered
2005 Outback 2.5i
13 Posts
It's generally a good idea to avoid the first year of a vehicles generation. 2005 it the first year of the third generation Outbacks.