Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
98 Legacy Outback, EJ25D > 1995 EJ22 Swap
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - I'm new to my Subaru. I was lurking on this site the other day, but didn't expect to be back with an emergency so fast!

It starts & drives & brakes fine, but loud rapid thump, thump thump from rear. Any ideas? 1998 Outback 113k automatic

Reduces when on accelerator!

- I'm suspecting brakes, wheels, or something back underneath (but please don't hold me to this!)
- back of car is visibly shaking in rear view mirror
- faster with more speed. A little louder too
- vibration eventually started coming through floor pan
- Sounds much more distinct at very low speeds

At first driving was fine. Right before getting home, POSSIBLY seemed worse to left than right. Possibly less secure on road, especially after bumps (or it was my nerves giving out.)

Problem started a while ago (weeks at least), but was mild enough I thought it was these cars. Also it was intermittent, so I thought maybe the road I was on.

I'm told, this car has a history of scraping noise from back brakes that was never fully fixed. May have been a loose emergency brake. Maybe caliper. It went on for years & didn't effect driving or braking.

Any help would be great! Thanks!

·
Gallery Ninja, ,
2004 Outback "Bluebaru" & 2005 Outback XT
5,195 Posts
Sounds like a tire issue off of first description.

Other possibilities:
- Rear driveshaft (check for tightness - grab a 12mm wrench and check all four bolts!)
- Loose wheel - not joking. Torque them to 65 ft lbs!
- Crap caught in wheel?

I highly doubt the brakes in this case unless the vibration increases greatly when you brake.

Check these things and get back to us. :cool:

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
On checking... what I see...