Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm new to this form and this is my first post. I'm a new owner of a 2003 Out Back Sedan H-6 with 137000 miles. The car runs great however when warm and traveling at a slow speeds and making a 90 degree turn there is a distinct thumping noise and the car jerks. My wife says she can see the left front tire pulsating.
Any idea what might be causing this problem? Is there a safety issue?

·
Registered
2008 Ford Escape XLS - 2002 Subaru Outback
246 Posts
CV joints. Not a major safety issue, but something cheap enough to not neglect.

·
Premium Member
03 H6 OBW & 06 WRX Sportwagon
18,107 Posts
hope it's CV joints and not torque bind.

all4 tires the same model and wear?

use the FWD fuse and see if the problem goes away.

·
Registered
246 Posts
^ True that!

·
Registered
246 Posts
Right in the fuse box under the hood on the driver's side. You can't miss it, it's clearly labeled "fuse box". Then look at the chart on the cover, and one says FWD and just pull that one.

·
Registered
18,719 Posts
Then look at the chart on the cover, and one says FWD and just pull that one.
There is normally no fuse in the slot -- inserting a fuse disables the AWD (car becomes FWD. The test for torque bind is done by inserting a fuse in the slot. When the fuse is installed, there should be an AWD or FWD warning light on in the instrument panel.

(See attached diagram for location)

Incidentally, according to cars101.com, some 2003 H6s have VDC; I believe that in these cases, the fuse is not applicable. (The fuse does not change anything.)

it has a new transmission.
Was this installed before, or after you bought the car? Do you know why? Was the transmission replaced or rebuilt? And if replaced, was it recycled (e.g. from a scrapped car)?