Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
crank pulley chewed timing cover up

Hi, all. I'm a newbie here from Minnesota~ I work with people with disabilities, which means I don't have a great deal of money, so I'm hoping for a little wisdom here. I have a 2003 Legacy with 2.5 (interference motor) So.... I was driving, and heard a clicking (not banging), lost power, slowed down, and died. No loud bangs, no smoke, just clicking. I had my girlfriend steer while I pushed it into a parking lot. I popped the hood and saw that the crank pulley had separated (the rubber gave way of the "harmonic balancer") and had eaten into my timing cover. I popped open the inspection side of the cover on the driver's side, and the belt looked good. It turned out my battery was dead from the alternator not turning, so this had been going on a little while, and since it was only 3 blocks from home, I tried to turn it over, but it seemed to not want to start, so I had it towed home. I called around to local shops and they said that it was probably not a problem, that it was just the dead battery and that it takes a lot to throw it out of time if it's kept in good order, which this one has, but I fear a piece of plastic may have gotten caught up in my passenger side cam gear (maybe riding the belt over and up), because my timing appears to be off when i turned the new crank pulley to what should give me top dead center after I took the whole cover off. Is it possible to only have damage to one side of the engine? Any ideas on how much doing the valves costs? It's an 03 legacy with 185,000 with just over 60,000 on the timing belt. It's a great car, and it's been taken good care of, but the repair may be more than the car is worth... ha I'm all ears. Any room for optimism? I'd say it went about 2 blocks before I realized the issue and stopped it, but I know that's plenty of distance to ruin valves... .... OK... forgive me a big (UGH!!!!) I ha