Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, this is my first time doing a timing belt on my 99Outback (MT). I made sure to line up all marks on my engine block with the camshaft and each Cam Sprocket to each other, etc. This is for a DOHC EJ25 that has 166000 miles. I will provide picture below to hopefully explain my problem.
Once I removed the old belt, Idlers' and tensions and knowing that none of my Cam Sprockets moved during that process. I notice that the double line alignment markers that line up the exhaust cam with the intake cam was not correct. More specifically the intake Camshaft sprocket is rotated a full 180 degrees or backwards. From the diagram provide by the FSM.
Automotive tire Flash photography Motor vehicle Rim Automotive lighting

Let me Know if I should not worry about this or if my anxiety was worth it. I can rotate the intake camshaft about 70% of the way before I feel resistance and I don't wat my valves to hit I do force it. Not sure if I should be worried about that if my Crank Sprocket is at Top Dead Center.

Thank you, CJMD

Attachments

·
Premium Member
01 VDC, 05 R Sedan, 06 BAJA EJ257
16,682 Posts
As long as your crankshaft sprocket timing mark is on spot then the Pistons are down and you can rotate the camshaft sprockets to line them up for timing. I suggest that you use a breaker bar with a 17 mm socket to turn the camshaft past the load of the spring and when you get close to where the timing mark is supposed to be grip it good so it doesn't snap out of your hands and try to balance the shaft where it's supposed to be.

There's a tool to hold those two cams sprockets in place while you do the timing belt, but I guess it's a bit late for that, otherwise you wouldn't be making this post.

·
Super Moderator
Outback 2011 3.6R Premium (sold Jan 22)
3,212 Posts
Further to what Cardoc said.