Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2011 subaru outback auto 2.5
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
all right so I'm new to the subaru world, my girlfriend bought a 2011 subaru outback 2.5 auto with about 250000km, a few months back. It started over heater last weekend, so figured it was a stuck thermostat, water pump etc. so I ordered the kit changed out the pump/pulleys/and timing belt. but I am worried that the timing is somehow off, I lined up all the notches to there proper locations and when I put the belt on all looked perfect. But when i was attempting to put the timing belt on, the drives side cam pulley spun on me about a 1/4 turn i just put it back what i thought was the proper place(notches lines up) and put the belt on. cranked the motor over a few times by hand everything felt smooth. started the car up idled just fine. let the car warm up to check for leaks nothing. decided to bring it for a test drive. When the car is under load(up a hill) the engine feels like it skips at around 2500-3000rpm and looses power and won't pull it's self up a hill and I didn't want to force it so towed it back home. it still idles fine and kind of hear a lifter ticking, may have been there before but who knows and not familiar with the sounds of these engine 95% of the vehicles I work on are diesel.
So my questions are
1.if all the notches are lined up when the belt is off can i freely turn the cams with out upsetting the timing as long as the notch is lined up once the belt is on.
2. is it possible to create an air lock in the cooling system that would affect the performance of the car( I did burp the system)