Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Legacy Outback MT
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 1999 OB/MT has a tire that's gone uneven and bald on one side and the rest are within their last year, so I'm looking at a new set of all seasons (or maybe touring). I've been using Nokian WR's for many years, but am looking at other possibilities. I live in the northern Rockies (SW Montana), so travel in snow, ice and rain some, as well as mountain passes, gravel roads and occasionally some that are more rocky on the way to trailheads. Of course, the number of tire companies still producing 205/70R15's is a lot fewer these days. My research so far has found the Firestone WeatherGrip to be well liked by customers, if not testers (e.g., TireRack, CR). Any other ideas that have pleased? I like quieter tires if possible and put on several thousand miles a year. Thanks,

·
Meh.
I has wagons.
12,436 Posts
General Altimax RT43 are good, but getting long in the tooth style wise. Think they're being replaced by the RT45 I think, which might mean you find them cheap as an outgoing model.

Yokohama A/T G015 is a good mix of on/off road style. Spendy though.

Reactions: Duncan Heinz

·
Registered
1998 Outback Limited
261 Posts
I run the General Altimax Arctic 12's year round. Found them a year ago at Walmart for the incredible price of $40 a piece. Quiet, excellent snow traction, but decent summer performance as well. Seem to be wearing great also. I'm in Maine, they are perfect for me. I would get them again.

·
Registered
1999 Legacy Outback MT
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the General tire suggestions. The new RT45 is supposed to extend wear cycle by 10K miles, which may in part be a response to complaints about RT43's wearing out fast.