Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Touring XT
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I'll be towing this 5x8 Uhaul trailer tomorrow 700 miles to central California.

I installed the EcoHitch and Curt wiring a few months ago. My biggest fear is that I didn't tighten the bolts enough from the hitch to the frame, and the hitch falls off on the highway....:laugh:

This is my first time towing. Needless to say, I'm looking forward to it. Wish me luck!

Attachments

·
Registered
2018 2.5 Outback
82 Posts
Have a safe trip. Kind of like wondering if you left the stove on after you leave etc.

·
Registered
'13 2.5 Premium
2,434 Posts
You'll be fine. The 5x8 will have a lot of wind drag, don't force the engine to work harder than it needs to by trying to maintain too high a road speed. Watch the tach more than you watch the speedometer, and make sure to remember to plan your fuel stops closer together. Expect about 16-18 mpg depending on elevation and terrain.

·
Registered
2010 2.5 CVT Limited
1,810 Posts
Air up the tires (on the trailer too!) and have a safe trip.
I think your cargo box will actually help mitigate some of the wind drag of the trailer, at least over the top. Sides, not so much.
Just give your rigging a spot check when you stop for fuel. Everything should be fine.

Safe travels!

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
26,850 Posts
moved to towing section, and updated title,

leave some extra space to brake

Reactions: miker104

·
Registered
2020 Touring XT
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·