Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 5 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, we just cancelled our order for a '22 FW after getting nervous that it would not have enough hp/torque for a 1900 pound camper that we intend to buy. Back to figuring out a tow vehicle. We are now looking at the Outback Wilderness, or the new '23 Outback Onyx turbo. Both seem to meet the needs of towing the Alto r1723 camper. For all those that tow campers with their Outback, which would you endorse as a tow vehicle? Or do you wish you had a different tow vehicle? If so, why? We are total newbies with towing. If we move forward with the Outback as our tow vehicle, what should we be considering/any advise when building the order?

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
[QUOTE="Carnerd, post: 6266543, member: 543743"
The only other thing to keep in mind is that when towing, you are required to use 91 octane (or more) minimum.
[/QUOTE]

This is the first I am reading of this, which is why I am here, asking questions. It's a significant consideration. This will also be an everyday vehicle, but we also hope to do a lot of camping in retirement, so that additional gas expense is noted. I would be fine with the Ascent. My partner thinks it's too much car for an everyday vehicle.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
[QUOTE="Carnerd, post: 6266543, member: 543743"}

The only other thing to keep in mind is that when towing, you are required to use 91 octane (or more) minimum. It is worth mentioning, though, that if the Ascent is of any consideration to you, then you are free to use 87 octane all the time even when towing. But either of the Outback trims you are looking at will be plenty capable for a 1,900 lb trailer
[/QUOTE]