Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, I am a newbie to this forum and would like your collective wisdom as to whether I can use my new, turbo-charged Outback to tow a 3000 pound camper. Issues that occur to me are:
1) will the car handle the load, both in terms of safety and in terms of not damaging the engine, the transmission, etc.?
2) will I be voiding my warranty by towing the camper and installing the legally required brake controller?
3) what other issues/concerns am I missing?
Many thanks in advance.

ON

·
Registered
5,495 Posts
The 525 pound tongue weight limit also needs to be considered.

·
Registered
2018 Outback Premium 2.5
337 Posts
Definitely, and factor in what supplies etc you will be carrying to stay under.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
'13 2.5 Premium
2,383 Posts
Regarding warranty: read the manual closely. It will probably say, “warranty does not cover damages from towing”, or similar. No, it doesn’t void your warranty, but Subaru won’t pay to fix something that breaks because of towing.

Note: I don’t have a copy of your manual to confirm this, but it’s probably in there.

·
Registered
2018 3.6R Limited
163 Posts
With passengers and equipment you will be at the limits of the OB's capability. That turbo will be working hard. Will this be level roads I hope?

·
Registered
3,308 Posts
If you repeatedly tow a 3000 pound camper, your car will be under "severe service" according to the warranty and maintenance booklet, and will require CVT fluid changes every 24,855 miles to protect the warranty.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks for all the info folks. I won’t be towing all that frequently, probably only 6 or so times per year.

·
Registered
2018 3.6R Limited
163 Posts