Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been a Jeep girl for 10 years, and I am completely new to Subarus and TPMS, so please pardon my inexperience. Anyway, I just picked up a 2005 OB sedan 3.0R, and the TPMS flashed after a few miles of driving. I have the tires inflated to the proper psi, so I don't know what else it could be. I am still under the dealer's 3 month/3k mile drivetrain warranty, and want to get them to fix it before I try fiddling with it myself. What could it be, and if they "fix" it, is their a way to check that they didn't just disable it? If it matters, there is 71,500mi on the clock.

·
Registered
310 Posts
I would have them check the battery life of the TPMS. The ones on your car are reaching their life expectancy.

·
Registered
2,342 Posts
Battery for the TPMS tire sensors is a very real possibility. They won't disable it, that would be illegal. At 71k if you still have the original tires it should be time for new ones. If you have fairly new tires someone cheaped out on you.

In order to fix the battery you have to re-mount and balance the tires.

Of course it could always be the sensor in the car or the environment. TPMS works via radio waves and there can be local interference sometimes. If it only happens in the same place everyday for example.

If it were me I would ignore it until I needed new tires, but then I have to get tires often.

·
Registered
16,281 Posts
When the TPMS light flashes, it's indicating a problem in the TPMS system, not a low pressure. (Low pressure in a tire is indicated by the light coming on steadily.)