Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Outback Wagon 2.5 Auto
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted to change my tranny fluid on my 2004 2.5 automatic today.
Well...I was trying to loosen the drain plug and the part it threads onto cracked. Ugh!!
I removed the pan and cleaned it up. Small crack but I put JB all the way around it. Going to let it sit 24 hours. I hope it seals! Or doesn't crack the JB weld when tightening the drain plug back on.
However I got online and was trying to find a New transmission pan just in case, and I can find one??

I'm still new to Subaru so maybe I'm just not looking in the right places??

Hopefully it sealed and don't crack when putting the drain plug back on.

But does anyone know where online I can get a new one in case?

2004 Outback EJ259 2.5 automatic it's the California emissions one if that matters.

Also I seen mine has a transmission filter in it?

http://www.partsgeek.com/gbproducts...eU43Jx4VZ76bZ-gdxoCSz4QAvD_BwE&ad=47433970452

·
Registered
Silver: 2009 Subaru Outback Limited Edition, 2.5 Liter EJ25, Automatic. Gem: 2002 Subaru Outback LL Bean Edition, 3.0 liter EZ30D, Automatic
207 Posts
There's always your local dealership's parts department, there may be one in your region that's a little better than others.

·
Registered
Silver: 2009 Subaru Outback Limited Edition, 2.5 Liter EJ25, Automatic. Gem: 2002 Subaru Outback LL Bean Edition, 3.0 liter EZ30D, Automatic
207 Posts
They order them in for you. I've been able to get things for my 2002 LL Bean wagon from them, though sometimes there's a bit of a wait. I believe my local dealership was trying to sell me a transmission oil pan, but a second opinion said I didn't need one. I got my transmission oil filter from the dealership.