Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Outback xt 2005
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi !
I'm about to buy an outback xt 05. The only thing is that the turbo seal is leaking.. So i looked for a used stock OB turbo, but can't seem to find one nearby. I though about buying a used wrx turbo to put it in, but since i'm fairly new to the OB stuff and the turbo stuff, i would like to know which turbo fits in my OB.

Also, the seal is leaking pretty hard, so i would like to know what to check to be sure that everything is fine between the turbo and the motor.

Thanks in advance!

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,225 Posts
What seal? Gasket? An turbo gasket has nothing to do with the actual health of the turbo. Is oil leaking?

We need more-better information.

The '05 came with a vf40. vf42, vf46 will fit, they are both larger, but the flanges are the same.

·
Registered
Outback xt 2005
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry for this, yeah it should be the gasket, the oil is leaking in to the motor. There is a good amount of blue/white smoke coming out of the exausth.

EDIT:
My mistake, i'm talking about the oil seal inside the turbo, not the gasket. Sorry english isn't my native language, i struggle sometimes..

·
Registered
2005 OBXT Ltd Obsidian Black 5MT
1,080 Posts
Whoa, whoa.... it's burning oil and they're saying it's a "turbo seal"?

The only seals on a turbo are at the exhaust side. If the turbo is leaking internally, that's a good sign it's gone toast. There aren't any seals that can be just replaced.