Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
Outback xt 2005
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi !
I'm about to buy an outback xt 05. The only thing is that the turbo seal is leaking.. So i looked for a used stock OB turbo, but can't seem to find one nearby. I though about buying a used wrx turbo to put it in, but since i'm fairly new to the OB stuff and the turbo stuff, i would like to know which turbo fits in my OB.

Also, the seal is leaking pretty hard, so i would like to know what to check to be sure that everything is fine between the turbo and the motor.

Thanks in advance!

Master Caster
馃枻馃挃馃挋 3 Beautiful OBXTs
What seal? Gasket? An turbo gasket has nothing to do with the actual health of the turbo. Is oil leaking?

We need more-better information.

The '05 came with a vf40. vf42, vf46 will fit, they are both larger, but the flanges are the same.

Registered
Outback xt 2005
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry for this, yeah it should be the gasket, the oil is leaking in to the motor. There is a good amount of blue/white smoke coming out of the exausth.

EDIT:
My mistake, i'm talking about the oil seal inside the turbo, not the gasket. Sorry english isn't my native language, i struggle sometimes..

Registered
2005 OBXT Ltd Obsidian Black 5MT
Whoa, whoa.... it's burning oil and they're saying it's a "turbo seal"?

The only seals on a turbo are at the exhaust side. If the turbo is leaking internally, that's a good sign it's gone toast. There aren't any seals that can be just replaced.

But enough about that, there's a lot of other places that can cause oil burning, and none of them are good and most solutions are expensive. I'd take a good look at your wallet and then set it on fire if you purchase this car.

Registered
2005 OBXT Ltd Obsidian Black 5MT