Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have two different tread sets on my 2003 outback 2.5. I have found a matching set . Will it matter if two have more miles on them than the the other two ? As long as the tread patterns are the same ? Or do I need to get 4 new tires ? Also I am new in the Essex County New Jersey area and am looking for a good Subaru Guru .. thanks ..I should add these are fairly new tires probably 2500 miles on them tops ..and I am just starting to feel some binding when shes turned all the way .. like parallel parking or something ..I am hoping to avert tragedy

·
Registered
16,402 Posts
Transmission type?

The requirement is that the rolling circumference of all four tires be within 1/4-inch of each other (inflated to the same pressure). The rolling circumference is the distance the tire moves in one revolution.

Different brands of the same size tire often have have different circumferences. Different models of the same brand of tire (in the same size) can have different circumferences. Tires of the same brand, model and size made in different plants or on different molds, can have different circumference. And tires with the same brand, model and size will have different circumferences if their tread depth is different.

Consequently, to reduce the possibility of differences, the starting point should be all tires should be the same brand, model, size, and tread depth. In regard to tread depth, the depth should be measured with a proper tread depth gauge at several places around the tire. A difference of as little as 3/64-inch (1.5/32-inch) in tread depth from tire to tire can result in a 1/4-inch difference in circumference. (This varies slightly depending on the size of the tire.)