Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of i want to apologize this post of for my baja, my outback is running great, but there aren't any decent baja forums out there. So here it goes...I recently picked up an 06 baja non turbo, 5speed, 148k miles bone stock. I have super low power pulling out of hills, until it reaches about 2500 rpm then it takes off. This only happens once the engine is warm. It runs fine when cold. I have changed, plugs, knock sensor, map sensor, re-calibrated tps, cleaned egr, checked fuel pressure, pulled the fuel pump and checked tank, checked vacuum, checked cats with heatgun and also disconnected exhaust, No codes and no pending codes. I have a reader that shows live data and everything looks normal to me, but i am no tuning expert. The headgaskets were done by a dealer 15k ago before i purchased the car. I have also added more grounding straps, I have a new coil on order. I am totally lost I have read post after post and am about out of options. I hate to keep throwing parts at it.

·
Registered
35 Posts
I changed the timing belt on my outback xt and screwed up, 1 exhaust cam was off by 1 tooth - and it was an absolute dog at low rpms.

You mentioned the dealer changed the head gaskets ... The timing belt would have to come off and back on. I'm not familiar with what engine your Baja has but you should be able to pull the cam covers, rotate the crankshaft and verify all the timing marks.

Good luck,
Mmmv,
M.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I changed the timing belt on my outback xt and screwed up, 1 exhaust cam was off by 1 tooth - and it was an absolute dog at low rpms.

You mentioned the dealer changed the head gaskets ... The timing belt would have to come off and back on. I'm not familiar with what engine your Baja has but you should be able to pull the cam covers, rotate the crankshaft and verify all the timing marks.

Good luck,
Mmmv,
M.