Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to the newer Subaru generation cars and am continuing to learn a lot from this great site.

I'm working on a standard 2007 Outback limited with a seized engine from the previous owner (they ran it out of oil). I knew it was siezed when I bought it.

Question: if my existing 2007 (V25) heads are still good (and I don't know if they are at this point because I haven't taken the heads off and inspected them yet) can I swap them on a good 2005 Outback short block and run the engine using all my 2007 engine electronics and other physical parts like intake, etc..? I understand that the 2005 block is a one year only animal with its own special piston/rods configuration.

Thank you,
-dave

·
Registered
1,201 Posts
It depends on the 05 block.

If its a federal-emissions donor, it would work. Cali-emissions, no.

Also, you'll need to change these to the donor block:

PCV nipple
oil pump
oil pan
pan baffle
pickup
dipstick

Also, to be exact, the 05 federal pistons are different than the 06+ pistons. It does lower the compression slightly and may cause issues long term, but of the several I've done, it runs just fine for the daily driver crowd.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks very much for the pointers!

Now, I need to educate myself on what a California spec engine configuration looks like. Hopefully I have a Federal 2007 block and the donor is a 2005 federal block.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It depends on the 05 block.

If its a federal-emissions donor, it would work. Cali-emissions, no.

Also, you'll need to change these to the donor block:

PCV nipple
oil pump
oil pan
pan baffle
pickup
dipstick

Also, to be exact, the 05 federal pistons are different than the 06+ pistons. It does lower the compression slightly and may cause issues long term, but of the several I've done, it runs just fine for the daily driver crowd.

·
Registered