Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2011 OB 2.5 Limited
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just noticed that the Warm Ivory dye on the driver's lower seat back of our 2011 OB Limited (2 years old this month, 21K miles) is wearing off, exposing the natural color beneath. Has anyone else experienced this problem?

I plan to make a warranty claim, just curious as to how wide-spread this problem is (if at all) and how any problems have been resolved.

·
Registered
'14 3.6R Outback
2,348 Posts
Do you have a picture?

There have been some people that have been very unhappy with the Ivory interior. Personally I think Subaru made a terrible choice making it an option as white never does well in cars.

So the leather is getting "worn through?" It sounds like a cleaning issue to me (cleaning leather is something I do for a living). For the record you should always wipe down you seats with a damp cloth frequently. I know nothing about you or your situation, but it's worth mentioning.

·
Registered
2016 Tungsten Outback 3.6R w/Eyesight. My 6th Subaru.
332 Posts
Dave,

If leather is properly dyed, doesn't the color go all the way through or is it just on the surface? Do some colors just work better than others?

The owner's manual says "bald patches can be treated with a commercial leather spray laquer."

~Harvey

·
Registered
2011 OB 2.5 Limited
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Do you have a picture?

There have been some people that have been very unhappy with the Ivory interior. Personally I think Subaru made a terrible choice making it an option as white never does well in cars.