Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Outback Limited 2.5i
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be plain. I am new to cars in general.
Its kinda cold here at 50F and I notice that
water could be found dripping out of the exhaust
(where exhaust manifold goes to the main exhaust pipe)

I've read that its NORMAL because when it COLD
outside. But it is normally suppose to come out
of the TAIL PIPE ? does that mean I need the pipe
checked ?:confused:

·
Registered
22,835 Posts

Ever have a glass of ice water and have the glass sweat water? All your seeing is condensation and water trapped in the exhaust. No biggie.

·
Registered
2013 Outback 2.5 Premium 6mt
187 Posts
It's perfectly normal. The engine runs on normal outside air which contains moisture. After the combustion process, the water vapor condenses as cools.

·
Registered
2011 SSM Outback 2.5i Premium
2,094 Posts

First, 50 is COLD?! My outside temp is 18 right now, and it was 36 colder last week at -18!

Second, the others pretty much covered it. Water is a byproduct of combustion. Drive anywhere it actually gets cold (like here) and you'll see clouds (vapor) following most vehicles.

·
Registered
'14 3.6R Outback
2,346 Posts
Ever have a glass of ice water and have the glass sweat water? All your seeing is condensation and water trapped in the exhaust. No biggie.
Perfect Real world example right there.

We all of us have asked this question at some point.

Edit: wrote this message before full understanding, please disregard....

·
Registered
2,819 Posts
Cold is at 40,000' and the condensation trails you see from aircraft.

·
Registered
2013 Outback 2.5i Limited w/ SAP
29 Posts
Cold or not, this is perfectly normal. The output from a catalytic converter is CO2 and H2O.

·
Premium Member
2018 Outback Limited 2.5i Dark Blue Pearl/Ivory w'Eyesight
703 Posts
... I notice that