Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to the Subaru universe but I set my mind on buying an Outback (maybe Legacy wagon). I have the following characteristics:

- Maximum price around 8000$
- As little maintenance as possible since I am a newbie
- Will drive it in snowy conditions but not really off road
- Power not a requisite but reliability of engine is
- Shouldn't look great but drive great
- Should last a few more years driving around +-12k miles/year
- Sun/moonroof would be nice but not a must

I see newer basic cars (2006-2008) with high mileage (around 120k) and older basic cars (2002-2005) with less mileage (around 85k), or I see older H6 cars with high mileage. Which should I prefer with the above needs?

Any help of you wizards is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Joris

·
Registered
Fresh Out of Outbacks!
14,499 Posts
With all of the 4-cyl outbacks, there is an expensive service interval due at 105k miles. So find the shiniest one you can with the lowest miles on it, to give you the most amount of enjoyment before that timing belt service is due. Then pay to have it done the right way. Generally better than finding one over 105k and hoping the last guy did it right.

·
Registered
2011 Tacoma TRD Sport Double Cab Long Box
2,893 Posts
With that budget (and some hunting around), you should be able to pickup a nice Gen2 H6 with just over or just under 100k without a problem. I'd shoot for that!

·
Registered
2002 Subaru Outback H6 L.L.Bean
298 Posts
I got my 2002 Outback L.L. Bean with the H6 for 7100 out the door with the tax tags and titles. I did get a little bit of a deal on it, but it is in good condition with 105,000 on it. They are good motors, less service required, and the cars have the moonroof, which is great.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·