Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

New to the board, looking for some information. I've searched around your site and found some great information on the H6 motor. Seems like most of you really like it. Sorry if I'm not down with the correct terminology, I'll have to apologize for that.

I'm not new to Subaru, but I am new to the H6 motor and specifically something higher mileage. I'm currently looking at a 2005 Outback LL Bean edition with 127,000 on the 3.0 H6 motor. I live in Minneapolis so rust is typically an issue with almost any car that is more then 3 years old. This car is from TN and has almost no rust on the underside. Amazing shape compared to anything up here. Carfax on this car checks out ok. Overall the car is in good shape.

I know that the H6 motors get "wet" or leaky oil gaskets on them. This one had the gaskets replaced in the last few months by a local subaru mechanic who I know about. Very reliable so I'm not questioning the work done to it. When I test drove the car the transmission and motor seemed solid. Engine bay was amazingly clean with no corrosion. Also the spark plugs were recently replaced. Belts look new(er).

My question to those of you who know, what issues, if any, should I expect with a car with this high of miles? The person I'm buying it from is the 2nd owner which he's only owned the car for a few months. His reason for selling it is he wants something better on the MPG and he's looking to reduce some of his cars (he has 4 already).

Should I throw out an offer or should I walk away?

Thank you all in advance,

Ryan

·
Registered
12,308 Posts
Sounds like a great car.

That is low mileage for an H6. You'll need maintenance here and there and you can never predict the future, anything can have issues - but that engine/transmission is about the most probable 250,000 miles combination you'll find.