Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
01 VDC, 05 R Sedan, 06 BAJA EJ257
15,501 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been building and repairing cars of all types for 25 years. I started as a teenager trained by my father, a master technician. I study constantly, especially computer controls. I can diagnose and repair any issue without comebacks. Being efficient in diagnostic and repairs saves me and my customers a lot of time and money. I don't replace with a "known good part" and wait to see what happens down the road. I find the failed part and repair it.

I have customers come to me all the time with suggestions they read online through a forum. Most times, the forum is wrong. They get misinformation and chase issues for weeks. I understand the underlying effort. Save money. DIY.

So, I am here to help. I have full access to Mitchell Online, AllData Repair and my brain. You have questions, I have answers. But don't be surprised if I ask you for clarifications. If you want to do it yourself, here is a short list of supplies you will need to effectively give me the information needed to shorted your repair time and lessen your headaches and ease your wallet:

Actron scanner; its inexpensive, under $250, and effective for basic live data that will tell you a lot. Be sure it reads "Readiness Status" in case you have to do a repair for an emission test. You can drive the car while watching the monitors drop off as they set.
Metric tools: 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 34 and 36mm The majority size of nuts/bolts on the Subby.
Phillips and Flat head drivers
Floor jack and jack stands
Electrical repair kit Also comes in handy when you upgrade that McIntosh sound system to a Clarion/Polk/Kicker/Sound Ordnance that sounds like a concert hall.