Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Our 2011 OB seems to need a wiper replacement. Thanks to the forum here I've learned that they might be covered in a 3yr/36000 mile warranty. I think we're over the 36k. With my other cars (this is our first subaru!) I usually just by the Bosch or Rainx entire arm and blade replacements. I tried once to replace just the rubber and it was a mess. So I bought some new ones for our 2011 OB and as I was changing out the entire arm I noticed it seemed like the OB blade that came with my car was much better quality. I am by no means an expert or cars (or blades).

My question is: would I be better off just changing out the rubber and keeping the arm blade? It seems like its much more sturdy, better build than the blade arm asseembly I purchased from Bosch (for about $19).

thanks!

·
Registered
2006 Outback 2.5i Limited 5MT, 1984 Porsche 944
277 Posts
In my experience, Bosh blades are terrible. ANCO blades are my preferred. They last a long time, do a good job, and are inexpensive. Also, make sure you use Rain-X wiper fluid. It really does help. A lot.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok thanks for the tip. So would I be wrong to trash the original wiper arms that came with my 2011 subaru?

·
Registered
2011 Outback 3.6 Premium
723 Posts
There are three parts to the wiper assembly. (1) The wiper arm that attaches to the car, (2) The wiper blade carrier that attaches to the wiper arm and holds the rubber wiper blade, and (3) The rubber wiper bade.

The wiper arm lasts for years. The blade carrier needs infrequent replacement. The blade needs annual (more-or-less) replacement. Often the blade and the blade carrier are sold together for easier installation and to make sure you get a blade that properly fits the carrier.

I usually buy the wiper blade carrier and the wiper blade as a set.

·
Registered
2010 OB 3.6R limited
3,289 Posts