Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at this so forgive my lack of car knowledge. My wife's car wouldn't start this afternoon so I gave it a jump and everything was great for a few hours and even started fine this morning. She tried to start it again this evening and nothing. Tried to jump it again and everytime the horn would just go off. I couldn't get anything other than the horn going off. Tried to replace the battery and now I'm getting nothing. Not even a light. I've checked fuses and I'm completely stumped. Please help!!

thanks,

jw

·
Registered
4,078 Posts
It sounds like your alarm activated the ignition kill switch when you swapped batteries. It is set that way so thieves can't override the alarm by disconnecting the battery. Make sure the new battery is connected well and then try the unlock or disarm button on your remote. If the horn beeps twice and or the lights blink twice you are in business and should be able to start the car. Let us know how it goes.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
still nothing...not a sound, or light. Any other suggestions will be greatly appreciated. I'm really in a tight spot here. Need the car desperately tomorrow.

·
Registered
16,308 Posts
Car year, engine, transmission?

If your not getting anything at all, not even a dome light coming on when the door is open, or the stop lights coming on when the brake is pressed, then it could be the battery is dead (are you sure it's fully charged -- an off-the-shelf parts store battery might not be), the connections between the battery and the cables are bad (it could be the cable wire itself is corroded and not actually making a good connection with the clamp at the end), or the main slow-blow fuse (SBF) in the fuse panel is blown.